Collective Agreements
Collective agreements
Collective Agreements

The labour relations system in the construction industry defines four sectors for the purpose of negotiating the industrialinstitutional and commercialresidential, and civil engineering and roadwork collective agreements. The agreements have common clauses dealing with union security, union representation, grievance-settlement procedures, recourse with regard to disciplinary measures, arbitration, the insurance and pension plan.

Expiry of the collective agreements and applicable working conditions

The four collective agreements expire every four years. The present collective agreements (publications/agreements) are in force until April 30, 2021. However, the working conditions agreed to continue to apply unless there is an agreement in principle, lockout or strike in the respective sector.

How negotiations work

Negotiations take place at the provincial level and for the entire labour force and all construction firms. Working conditions agreed to by the parties are applicable to the industry as a whole throughout the province.

For each sector in the industry, a sector-based employer associations is designated by the Act Respecting Labour Relations, Vocational Training, and Workforce Management in the Construction Industry (Act R-20) for the purpose of negotiation. Similarly, with regard to workers, there are five representative union associations designated by the Act to negotiate the collective agreements. To be applicable in a sector, a collective agreement must be ratified by the employer party and at least three union associations that represent more than 50% of all workers in the industry.

  • Applicable obligations and conditions during a labour conflict
    Have you been a victim of or witness to acts of intimidation during a labour conflict? Report the situation immediately to the CCQ’s Direction des enquêtes by calling 1 844 736-6746 (toll-free) or 514 736-6746 (Montréal and area) or by email.

    The Act Respecting Labour Relations, Vocational Training and Workforce Management in the Construction Industry (Act R-20) continues to apply even during a labour conflict (strike or lock-out) in one or more sectors of the industry.

    When one of the parties exercises its right to strike or lock out, Act R-20 provides that employees cannot be kept from working nor employers from continuing their activities.

    Workers must still hold a competency certificate, and employers must have a licence issued by the Régie du bâtiment.

    Applicable working conditions

    Under the Act, the common clauses of the collective agreements remain in effect during a labour conflict. These clauses concern:

      • Union security and union dues check-off
      • Union representation
      • Grievance procedure and resolution
      • Recourses in cases of disciplinary measures
      • Arbitration
      • The basic complementary social benefits plan

    Other working conditions, including wage rates, work schedules, travel costs, contributions to the welding qualification and training funds (for employers only), paid statutory holidays, and obligatory annual vacations, depend on the sector targeted by the conflict.

    • In the institutional and commercial, industrial, and civil engineeringand roadwork sectors, these working conditions are not maintained until a new collective agreement is concluded between the parties.
    • In the residential sector, the working conditions are maintained until a new collective agreement is concluded between the parties.

    Regulatory obligations and monthly report

    Regulatory obligations continue to apply during a labour conflict.

    Therefore, employers are obliged to keep accounting records and transmit a monthly report. They must also continue to make deductions at source for the following items:

      • The CCQ levy due by the employer and the worker
      • Social benefits (basic contributions and premiums)
      • The contribution to the Fonds d’indemnisation des salariés de l’industrie de la construction
      • Union and employer dues

    The CCQ’s activities

    Even during a strike or lock-out, the CCQ continues to ensure compliance with the rules in force in the construction industry, including by conducting site visits.

    All services offered by the CCQ are maintained.

The Hour Reserve

Since May 2007, employers involved in the residential sector may establish an hour reserve. This system enables the employer's workers to bank overtime hours and to use them, as needed, under certain conditions. When an employer decides to establish an hour reserve, all workers in the company must have access to the system.

The hour reserve system was created under the 2004-07 collective agreement for the residential sector. For more information on the legal aspects of the system, please consult section 19 of the collective agreement for the residential sector, titled Règle particulière - réserve d'heures pour congé compensatoire.

Modalities for the Hour Reserve

There are rules for the creation, use, and liquidation of the hour reserve. In addition, the employer must report activities related to the hour reserve (creation, use, and liquidation) on the monthly report.

Establishing a Hour Reserve

If an employer decides to implement a hour reserve system, the overtime hours worked by the company's employees must be recorded in the books each week. Certain types of overtime hours may not be used to create a hour reserve. They are hours worked:
  • On a site listed in Appendix B: remote site; James Bay project; hydroelectric site north of the 55th Parallel, including Great Whale
  • During the obligatory annual summer or winter vacations
  • During a statutory holiday

An employee’s hour reserve may contain 80 hours for light residential and 80 hours for heavy residential. Overtime hours worked above this limit are payable at the applicable wage rate plus 50% (time-and-a-half) for light residential or 100% (double time) for heavy residential.

  • When Is a Hour Reserve Liquidated?
  • When Are the Hours in the Hour Reserve Used?

The hour reserve must be liquidated in the following situations:

Annual liquidation

Once a year, the employer must liquidate the employees’ hour reserve.

The annual liquidation takes place at the end of each averaging and reference period, as determined by the collective agreement. The Residential sector collective agreement 2013-2017 determines four of these periods:

  • March 31, 2013, to March 29, 2014
  • March 30, 2014, to March 28, 2015
  • March 29, 2015, to March 26, 2016
  • March 27, 2016, to March 25, 2017

The unused hours are liquidated by payment at the applicable wage rate at the time of the liquidation, increased by 50% (time-and-a-half) for light residential, or increased by 100% (double-time) for heavy residential.

Layoff of more than six months

When there is a layoff of more than six months, the employer must completely liquidate the hour reserve into compensatory time, payable at the wage rate applicable when the layoff took effect, all at regular pay (base wage) for the light residential sector or increased by 50% (time-and-a-half) for the heavy residential sector.

Dismissal

When an employee is dismissed, the employer must completely liquidate the hour reserve at the wage rate indicated in appendix R or R-1, increased by 50% for the light residential sector or 100% for the heavy residential sector.

Employee resignation

When an employee resigns, the employer must completely liquidate the hour reserve at the wage rate set out in appendix R or R-1, all at regular pay (base wage) for the light residential sector or increased by 50% (time-and-a-half) for the heavy residential sector.

A worker may use the hours in the hour reserve in the following situations:

  • To complete a normal work week (Monday to Friday) up to 40 hours;
  • To complete a normal work week (Monday to Friday) up to 32 hours when the week is reduced due to a statutory holiday;
  • To compensate for loss of salary when the worker is absent due to a leave as provided for in An Act Respecting Labour StandardsExample: absence to fulfil obligations related to childcare or to the health or education of a child
  • To compensate for loss of salary due to an absence provided for in article 25 of the collective agreement. Example: absence due to a family member’s serious accident or illness
  • When laid off for less than six months
  • To compensate for loss of salary due to an absence authorized by the employer for a personal reason

The hours used in these situations are payable at the applicable regular wage rate for the light residential sector and at the base rate plus 50% for the heavy residential sector. The applicable wage rate is the one that the worker is earning at the time when the hours are used.

Unjustified or unauthorized absence

Employers are not required to permit use of hours in the hour reserve for any unjustified or unauthorized absence that does not fit within one or another of the six categories listed above.

X

By continuing to navigate on this site, you accept the use of cookies and other tracers enabling us to propose content and promotions adapted to your interests and to gather visit statistics for the purpose of improving your navigation experience. You may block the transmission of data at any time by using the Google add-on.

To find out more about our confidentiality policy and conditions of use, click here.

Confirm

Conventions collectives
Conventions collectives
Conventions collectives

Le régime de relations du travail de l’industrie de la construction définit quatre secteurs aux fins de la négociation des conventions collectives (industriel / 2017-2021institutionnel et commercial / 2017-2021résidentiel / 2017-2021génie civil et voirie / 2017-2021) avec des clauses communes portant sur la sécurité syndicale, la représentation syndicale, la procédure de règlements de griefs, l'exercice de recours à l’encontre de mesures disciplinaires, l'arbitrage et les régimes de retraite et d'assurance.

Échéance des conventions collectives et conditions de travail applicables

Les quatre conventions collectives viennent à échéance à tous les quatre ans. Les présentes conventions collectives sont en vigueur jusqu’au 30 avril 2021. Cependant, les conditions de travail continuent de s’appliquer jusqu’à ce qu’il y ait entente de principe, lock-out ou grève dans le secteur visé.

Fonctionnement des négociations

La négociation se réalise à l’échelle provinciale et pour l’ensemble de la main-d’œuvre et des entreprises de construction. Les conditions de travail convenues entre les parties sont applicables à l’ensemble de l’industrie dans toute la province.

Pour chacun des secteurs de l’industrie, une association patronale dite sectorielle est désignée par la Loi sur les relations du travail, la formation professionnelle et la gestion de la main-d’oeuvre dans l’industrie de la construction (Loi R-20) aux fins de la négociation. Dans le même ordre d’idée, en ce qui a trait à la main-d’œuvre, il existe cinq associations syndicales dites représentatives, reconnues par la Loi pour négocier les conventions collectives. Pour être applicable dans un secteur, une convention collective doit être ratifiée par la partie patronale et au moins trois associations syndicales qui représentent plus de 50 % des travailleurs de l’industrie.

  • Obligations et conditions applicables lors d’un conflit de travail sur les chantiers
    Victime ou témoin d’actes d’intimidation pendant un conflit de travail ? Signalez la situation sans tarder à la Direction des enquêtes de la CCQ en composant 1 844 736-6746 (sans frais) ou 514 736-6746 (Montréal et environs) ou par courriel.

    La Loi sur les relations du travail, la formation professionnelle et la gestion de la main-d’oeuvre dans l’industrie de la construction (Loi R-20) continue de s’appliquer même lors d’un conflit de travail (grève ou lock-out) dans un ou plusieurs secteurs de l’industrie.

    Lorsque l’une des parties exerce son droit de grève ou de lock-out, conformément à la Loi R-20 rien n’empêche un salarié de travailler ou un employeur de continuer ses activités.

    L'obligation de détenir un certificat de compétence pour les travailleurs et une licence délivrée par la Régie du bâtiment pour les employeurs demeure.

    Conditions de travail applicables

    En vertu de la loi, les clauses communes des conventions collectives demeurent en vigueur pendant un conflit de travail. Ces clauses concernent :

      • la sécurité syndicale et le précompte des cotisations syndicales;
      • la représentation syndicale;
      • la procédure de règlement de griefs;
      • les recours en cas de mesures disciplinaires;
      • l’arbitrage;
      • le régime complémentaire d'avantages sociaux de base.

    Quant aux autres conditions de travail, notamment les taux de salaire, les horaires de travail, les frais de déplacement, les cotisations aux fonds de qualification de soudage et de formation (pour les employeurs seulement), les jours fériés chômés et les congés annuels obligatoires, le tout dépend du secteur visé par le conflit.

    • Pour les secteurs institutionnel et commercial, industriel et génie civil et voirie, ces conditions de travail ne sont pas maintenues, et ce, jusqu'à ce qu'une nouvelle convention collective soit conclue entre les parties.
    • Pour le secteur résidentiel, les conditions de travail sont maintenues jusqu'à ce qu'une nouvelle convention collective soit conclue entre les parties.

    Obligations règlementaires et rapport mensuel

    Les obligations réglementaires continuent de s’appliquer pendant un conflit de travail.

    L'employeur a donc l'obligation de tenir un registre et de transmettre un rapport mensuel. Il doit également continuer de prélever les sommes relatives aux éléments suivants :

      • le prélèvement  de la CCQ dû par l'employeur et le travailleur;
      • les avantages sociaux (contributions et cotisations de base);
      • la contribution au Fonds d’indemnisation des salariés de l’industrie de la construction;
      • les cotisations syndicales et patronales.

    Les activités de la CCQ

    Même lors d'une grève ou d'un lock-out, la CCQ continue d’assurer le respect des règles en vigueur dans l’industrie de construction, notamment en effectuant des visites de chantier.

    Tous les services offerts par la CCQ sont maintenus.

La réserve d'heures

Depuis mai 2007, un employeur qui œuvre dans le secteur résidentiel peut instaurer une réserve d'heures. Ce système permet à ses salariés de mettre en réserve des heures supplémentaires et de les utiliser, au besoin, à certaines conditions. Lorsqu'un employeur décide d’instaurer une réserve d’heures dans son entreprise, il doit le faire pour tous ses salariés.

La réserve d’heures tire son existence de la convention collective 2004-2007 du secteur résidentiel. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le volet juridique de ce système, veuillez consulter la section 19 de la convention collective du secteur résidentiel, intitulée Règle particulière - réserve d’heures pour congé compensatoire.

Modalités reliées à la réserve d'heures

Des règles régissent la constitution, l'utilisation et la liquidation de la réserve d'heures. De plus, l'employeur doit faire état sur son rapport mensuel des activités liées à la réserve d'heures (constitution, utilisation et liquidation).

Pour constituer une réserve d'heures :

Si l'employeur décide d'implanter un système de réserve d'heures dans son entreprise, il doit inscrire dans ses livres, à chaque semaine, les heures supplémentaires effectuées par ses salariés. Certains types d’heures supplémentaires ne peuvent pas servir à la constitution d'une réserve d'heures. Il s'agit de celles effectuées :

  • sur un chantier visé par l’Annexe B : chantier isolé, projet de la Baie James, chantier hydroélectrique au nord du 55e parallèle, incluant Grande Baleine;
  • lors des congés annuels obligatoires d’été ou d’hiver;
  • lors d’un jour férié chômé.

La réserve d'heures d'un salarié peut contenir 80 heures pour le résidentiel léger et 80 heures pour le résidentiel lourd. Les heures supplémentaires effectuées au-delà de cette limite sont payables au taux de salaire applicable majoré de 50 % (taux et demi) pour le résidentiel léger ou 100 % (taux double) pour le résidentiel lourd.

  • Quand liquider une réserve d'heures?
  • Quand utiliser les heures mises en réserve?

Il faut liquider la réserve d'heures dans les situations suivantes :

Liquidation annuelle

Une fois l’an, l'employeur doit liquider la réserve d'heures d’un salarié.

La liquidation annuelle s’effectue à la fin de la période d’étalement et de référence qui est déterminée par la convention collective. La convention collective résidentielle 2013-2017 en détermine quatre :

  • du 31 mars 2013 au 29 mars 2014;
  • du 30 mars 2014 au 28 mars 2015;
  • du 29 mars 2015 au 26 mars 2016;
  • du 27 mars 2016 au 25 mars 2017.

Les heures inutilisées sont liquidées en effectuant un paiement au taux de salaire applicable au moment de la liquidation, majoré de 50 % (taux et demi) pour le résidentiel léger ou majoré de 100 % (taux double) pour le résidentiel lourd.

Mise à pied pour plus de six mois

Lors d'une mise à pied de plus de six mois, l'employeur doit liquider complètement la réserve d'heures en temps compensatoire, et ce, au taux de salaire applicable lors de la mise à pied, le tout non majoré (taux simple) pour le secteur résidentiel léger ou majoré à 50 % (taux et demi) pour le secteur résidentiel lourd.

Congédiement

L'employeur doit liquider complètement la réserve d'heures au taux de salaire indiqué à l’annexe R ou R-1 lors du congédiement, le tout majoré de 50 % pour le résidentiel léger ou de 100 % pour le secteur résidentiel lourd.

Départ volontaire du salarié

L'employeur doit liquider complètement la réserve d'heures au taux de salaire indiqué à l’annexe R ou R-1 lors du départ volontaire, le tout non-majoré (taux simple) pour le résidentiel léger ou majoré à 50 % (taux et demi) pour le secteur résidentiel lourd.

Le salarié peut utiliser les heures mises en réserve dans les situations suivantes :

  • pour combler une semaine normale de travail, jusqu'à concurrence de 40 heures (du lundi au vendredi);
  • pour combler une semaine normale de travail, jusqu'à concurrence de 32 heures, lorsque réduite en raison d'un congé férié (du lundi au vendredi);
  • pour compenser la perte de salaire consécutive à une absence pour un congé prévu par la Loi sur les normes du travailExemple : absence pour remplir des obligations reliées à la garde, à la santé ou à l'éducation d'un enfant;
  • pour compenser la perte de salaire consécutive à une absence prévue à l'article 25 de la convention collective. Exemple : absence pour un accident grave ou de maladie grave d'un de ses proches;
  • lorsque mise à pied pour moins de six mois;
  • Pour compenser la perte de salaire consécutive à une absence autorisée par l'employeur pour un motif personnel.

Les heures utilisées pour ces situations sont payables au taux de salaire applicable non majoré pour le secteur résidentiel léger et majoré de 50 % pour le secteur résidentiel lourd. Le taux de salaire applicable est celui que le salarié gagne au moment où les heures sont utilisées.

Absence injustifiée ou non-autorisée

L'employeur n'est pas tenu de permettre l'utilisation des heures en réserve pour toute absence injustifiée ou non autorisée qui n'entre pas dans l'une ou l'autre des six catégories énumérées ci-dessus.

X

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de témoins, communément appelés « cookies » et autres traceurs nous permettant de vous proposer des contenus et des promotions adaptées à vos intérêts et de recueillir des statistiques de visites en vue d’améliorer votre expérience de navigation. Vous pouvez en tout temps bloquer la transmission des données grâce au module offert par Google.

Pour en savoir plus sur notre politique de confidentialité et conditions d'utilisation, cliquez ici.

Confirmer