Basic Insurance

Basic Insurance

Insurability conditions

To be insured, workers must meet insurability conditions.

Depending on the number of hours that they have accumulated during one reference period, workers may obtain coverage from one of the basic plans A, B, C, or D during an insurance period. When workers accumulate more hours than are required to be insured, the surplus is put in a hour reserve in their name. In some cases, a worker may pay an insurance premium to obtain the coverage in plan C or plan Z.

To obtain coverage from the supplementary insurance plan in a trade, a worker must first be insured under a basic plan.

The MÉDIC Construction card confirms the insurance plan under which a worker is covered under and provides a summary of the coverage that worker receives.

If a worker dies, his or her dependents may continue to receive insurance coverage under certain conditions.

An employee who feels that he or she has the right to insurance coverage different from that granted by the Commission de la construction du Québec may make a complaint about this decision. To do this, he or she must contact Customer Services, which will send him or her the appropriate form. If the employee has taken this step and is still dissatisfied with the CCQ’s decision, the Act Respecting Labour Relations, Vocational Training and Workforce Management in the Construction Industry allows him or her to ask for a review. The CCQ’s Customer Services can guide the employee with this process and supply the appropriate form.

Insurance and reference periods

Workers are insured for six-month periods. There are therefore two insurance periods per year: from January to June and from July to December.

To be insured under plan A, B, C, or D during one of these periods, workers must accumulate the required number of hours. The months during which workers accumulate these hours form the reference period. The table below shows some reference periods and the corresponding insurance periods.

Reference period
(accumulation of hours)
Insurance period
August 27, 2017 to February 24, 2018 July 1 to December 31, 2018
February 25 to August 25, 2018 January 1 to June 30, 2019
August 26, 2018 to February 23, 2019 July 1 to December 31, 2019
February 24 to August 31, 2019
January 1 to June 30, 2020
September 1, 2019 to February 29, 2020 July 1 to December 31, 2020

Hours that may be accumulated 

The hours that may be accumulated within the reference period are:

  • The hours worked declared to the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) by employers;
  • The hours credited for work performed outside of Québec for wich insurance payments were transferred to the CCQ under a reciprocity agreement;
  • Hour credits obtained through disability.
 

 

  • Insurance by Hours Worked (A, B, C, D)
  • Premium for Plan C Coverage
  • Premium for Plan Z Coverage
  • The Act Respecting Prescription Drug Insurance

To be insured under plan A, B, C, or D by hours worked, workers must accumulate, during the reference period, the number of hours given in the table below.

Plan

Number of hours required by reference period

A

750

B

600

C

450

D

300

Insurance plan A offers the most complete coverage, and plan D offers minimal coverage. Workers obtain the best plan possible as a function of hours accumulated during the reference period.

Hour Reserve

If a worker has more hours than required to be insured, the excess is put in a hour reserve in his or her name. If the worker has not accumulated enough hours during the reference period, the hours in his or her hour reserve may be used to obtain the best plan possible without surpassing the coverage under the preceding insurance period. The number of hours in the worker’s hour reserve is given on his or her MÉDIC Construction card.

It should be noted that when there is an increase in the basic assessment for each hour of work paid into the insurance fund by an employer, the hours already in reserve are adjusted downward to reflect this new value, unless the contrary has been negotiated in the collective agreements.

For example, if a worker’s reserve contains 500 hours that were assessed at $2.05/h and the assessment increases to $2.10/h, the number of hours in the reserve will decrease to 488.1, as 500 h x $2.05 = 488.1 h x $2.10.

When workers take a training course recognized by the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ), hours may, under certain conditions, be credited to their hour reserve. Hours for a training course taken from January to June are credited to the hour reserve and may be used during the following July to December insurance period. Hours for a training course taken from July to December are credited to the hour reserve and may be used during the following January to June insurance period.

In addition, if there is an adjustment of hours upward or downward following an amended monthly report or the filing of a salary complaint, the hours in the worker’s reserve may be changed during the insurance period. 

Hours not credited to the hour reserve

If a worker is not insured under plan A, B, C, or D during an insurance period, the hours accumulated during the corresponding reference period are not added to that worker’s hour reserve.

In addition, if the worker is not covered by plan A, B, C, or D for two consecutive insurance periods, he or she loses all the hours in his or her reserve as well as those accumulated during the reference period. 

The hours lost by workers are returned to the insurance fund and are used to fund the plans

Workers may pay a premium to obtain coverage under plan C for an insurance period if they meet all of the following conditions:

  • Be under 65 years old on the first day of this insurance period;
  • Be insured by plan D or are not insured for this insurance period;
  • Have at least 8,000 hours worked recorded in the construction industry’s pension plan for work done, at the latest, by the last day of the reference period corresponding to this insurance period;
  • Have accumulated a total of at least 1,200 hours over the last three reference periods;
  • In the preceding insurance period, have been insured under plan A, B, or C.

The premium corresponds to the cost of 450 hours plus applicable taxes. The hours accumulated during the reference period and those in the hour reserve are used to lower the amount to pay.

Example:For the insurance period from July to December 2019, a worker eligible for payment of the premium to obtain coverage under planC has worked 100 hours during the reference period and has 50hours in the hour reserve. During the reference period from September 2018 to February 2019, one insurance hour cost $2.10.
Premium (450hoursx$2.10/hour) $945
Reference period hours (100hoursx$2.10/hour) -$210
Hour reserve hours(50hoursx$2.10/hour) -$105
Amount to pay before taxes =$630
Taxes (9%x$630.00) +$56.70
Amount pay to be insured under plan C =$686.70

The Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) sends a notice of insurability to eligible people and indicates the amount to pay. In some cases, workers must pay the premium; consult the section about the Act Respecting Prescription Drug Insurance.

Workers may pay a premium to obtain coverage under plan Z for an insurance period if they meet all of the following conditions:

  1. They cannot be insured by their hours worked (plan A, B, C, or D) for this insurance period;

AND

  1. a) They meet the conditions for payment of a premium to obtain coverage under plan A, of a premium to obtain coverage under plan C or a premium to obtain coverage under the retirees insurance plan for this insurance period;

OR

  1. b) They were under 65 years of age on the first day of this insurance period.

AND

They have lost their right to pay the premium to obtain coverage under plan A; 

OR

They have lost their right to benefit from the retirees insurance plan;

The premium to be paid varies in each insurance period; for the period from July to December 2019, it is $1,020 (taxes included). The hours accumulated during the reference period and those in the hour reserve are used to lower the amount to pay.

Example:For the insurance period of July to December 2019, a worker eligible for payment of the premium to obtain coverage under planZ worked 100hours during the reference period and has 50hours in the hour reserve.

During the reference period from March to September 2018 to February 2019, one insurance hour costs $2.10.
Premium (before taxes) $931.19
Reference period hours (100hoursx$2.10/hour) -$210
Hour reserve hours (50hoursx$2.10/hour) -$105
Amount to pay before taxes =$616.19
Taxes(9%x$616.19) + $55.46
Amount pay to be insured under planZ =$671.65

The Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) sends a notice of insurability to eligible people and indicates the amount to pay. In some cases, workers must pay the premium; consult the section about the Act Respecting Prescription Drug Insurance.

Under the Act Respecting Prescription Drug Insurance, all Québecers must register for and contribute to a medication insurance plan.  

Workers and retirees under 65 years of age who do not have medication insurance coverage from another insurer must be insured by MÉDIC Construction when they are eligible. If they covered by the public medication insurance administered by the Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ), they must cancel that coverage.

People who are 65 years of age or over have the choice of being insured by the RAMQ or by a private insurance plan such as MÉDIC Construction.

For more information about the Act Respecting Prescription Drug Insurance, contact the RAMQ.

X

By continuing to navigate on this site, you accept the use of cookies and other tracers enabling us to propose content and promotions adapted to your interests and to gather visit statistics for the purpose of improving your navigation experience. You may block the transmission of data at any time by using the Google add-on.

To find out more about our confidentiality policy and conditions of use, click here.

Confirm

Assurance de base

Assurance de base

Conditions d’assurabilité

Pour être assuré, le salarié doit satisfaire aux conditions d’assurabilité.

Ainsi, selon le nombre d’heures qu’il a accumulées durant une période de référence, le salarié peut obtenir la couverture de l’un des régimes de base A, B, C ou D pour la période d’assurance déterminée. Lorsque le salarié accumule plus d’heures que requis pour être assuré, le surplus est mis en réserve, à son nom. Dans certains cas, un salarié peut payer une prime d’assurance pour obtenir la couverture du régime C ou du régime Z.

Pour obtenir les protections du régime d’assurance supplémentaire de son métier, un salarié doit d’abord être assuré par un régime de base.

La carte MÉDIC Construction indique au salarié le régime d’assurance qu’il détient et lui fournit un résumé des protections dont il bénéficie.

En cas de décès d’un salarié, les personnes à sa charge peuvent continuer à bénéficier de protections d’assurance à certaines conditions.

Un salarié qui estime avoir droit à une couverture d'assurance différente de celle qui lui a été accordée par la Commission de la construction du Québec peut se plaindre de cette décision. Pour ce faire, il doit communiquer avec le service à la clientèle qui lui acheminera le formulaire approprié. Si le salarié a déjà effectué cette démarche et est encore insatisfait de la décision de la CCQ, la Loi sur les relations du travail, la formation professionnelle et la gestion de la main-d’œuvre dans l’industrie de la construction lui permet de formuler une demande de réexamen. Le service à la clientèle de la CCQ peut le guider dans sa démarche et lui fournir le formulaire.

Périodes d’assurance et de référence

La période durant laquelle un salarié bénéficie de l’assurance est de six mois. Il y a donc deux périodes d’assurance par année, soit de janvier à juin et de juillet à décembre.

Pour bénéficier des régimes d'assurance A, B, C ou D durant l’une de ces périodes, le salarié doit accumuler le nombre d’heures requis. Les mois durant lesquels le salarié accumule ses heures constituent la période de référence. Le tableau suivant illustre les périodes de référence et les périodes d’assurance correspondantes.

Périodes de référence
(accumulation des heures)
Périodes d'assurance 
27 août 2017 au 24 février 2018 1er juillet au 31 décembre 2018
25 février au 25 août 2018 1er janvier au 30 juin 2019
26 août 2018 au 23 février 2019 1er juillet au 31 décembre 2019
24 février au 31 août 2019 1er janvier au 30 juin 2020
1er septembre 2019 au 29 février 2020 1er juillet au 31 décembre 2020

Heures pouvant être accumulées

Les heures qui peuvent être accumulées à l'intérieur d'une période de référence donnée sont:

  • les heures travaillées déclarées à la Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) par les employeurs;
  • les heures créditées pour du travail effectué hors Québec pour lequel les cotisations d'assurance sont transférées à la CCQ en vertu d’une entente de réciprocité;
  • les crédits d’heures obtenus en cas d’invalidité.
  • Être assuré par les heures (A,B,C,D)
  • Prime pour obtenir le régime C
  • Prime pour obtenir le régime Z
  • Loi sur l'assurance médicaments du Québec

Le nombre d'heures requis pour bénéficier d'une couverture d'assurance varie d'un régime à un autre. Pour être couvert par le régime A, B, C ou D, le salarié doit accumuler, durant la période de référence, le nombre d’heures indiqué dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Régime Nombre d'heures requis 
par période de référence
A 750
B 600
C 450
D 300

Le régime d’assurance A offre la couverture la plus complète et le régime D donne une couverture minimale. Le salarié obtient le meilleur régime possible en fonction des heures accumulées durant la période de référence.

Réserve d’heures

Si le salarié a plus d’heures que le nombre requis pour être assuré, l’excédent est mis en réserve à son nom. S’il n’a pas accumulé suffisamment d’heures au cours de la période de référence, les heures de sa réserve peuvent être utilisées pour obtenir le meilleur régime possible sans dépasser celui dont il bénéficiait à la période d’assurance précédente. Le nombre d’heures de la réserve du salarié est inscrit sur sa carte MÉDIC Construction.

Il est à noter que, lorsqu’il y a augmentation de la cotisation de base pour chaque heure de travail versée à la caisse d’assurance par un employeur, les heures déjà en réserve sont ajustées à la baisse pour refléter cette nouvelle valeur, à moins d’indication contraire négociée dans les conventions collectives.

Par exemple, si la réserve d’un salarié contient 500 heures qui ont été cotisées à 2,05 $/h et que la cotisation augmente à 2,10 $/h, le nombre d’heures de la réserve diminuera à 488,1 h, car 500 h X 2,05 $ = 488,1 h X 2,10$.

Lorsqu’un salarié suit un cours de formation reconnu  par la Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ), des heures peuvent, à certaines conditions, être créditées à sa réserve. Les heures d'une formation suivie pendant les mois de janvier à juin sont créditées à la réserve et peuvent être utilisées pour la période d’assurance de juillet à décembre qui suit. Les heures d'une formation suivie pendant les mois de juillet à décembre sont créditées à la réserve et peuvent être utilisées pour la période d’assurance de janvier à juin qui suit.

De plus, lorsqu’il y a correction d’heures à la hausse ou à la baisse à la suite d’un rapport mensuel amendé ou en cas de plainte de salaire par exemple, les heures inscrites à votre réserve peuvent être modifiées en cours de période d’assurance.

Heures non créditées à la réserve d’heures

Si le salarié n’est pas couvert par l'un des régimes A, B, C ou D pendant une période d’assurance, les heures qu’il a accumulées durant la période de référence correspondante ne sont pas versées à sa réserve.

De plus, si le salarié n'est pas couvert par l'un des régimes A, B, C ou D pendant deux périodes d'assurance consécutives, il perd toutes les heures de sa réserve en plus de celles accumulées pendant la période de référence.

Les heures perdues par le salarié sont remises dans la caisse d’assurance et servent à financer les régimes.

Le salarié peut payer une prime pour obtenir la couverture du régime C pour une période d’assurance, s’il répond à toutes les conditions suivantes :

  • il est âgé de moins de 65 ans le premier jour de cette période d’assurance;
  • il est assuré par le régime D ou il n’est pas assuré pour cette période d’assurance;
  • il a au moins 8 000 heures travaillées inscrites au régime de retraite de l’industrie de la construction pour du travail effectué au plus tard le dernier jour de la période de référence correspondant à cette période d’assurance;
  • il a accumulé un total d’au moins 1 200 heures de travail au cours des trois dernières périodes de référence;
  • à la période d’assurance précédente, il a été assuré A, B ou C.

La prime correspond au coût de 450 heures plus les taxes applicables. Les heures accumulées durant la période de référence et celles en réserve sont utilisées pour diminuer le montant à payer.

Par exemple : Pour la période d’assurance de juillet à décembre 2019, un salarié admissible au paiement de la prime pour obtenir le régime C a travaillé 100 heures durant la période de référence et a 50 heures en réserve. Durant la période de référence de septembre 2018 à février 2019, une heure d’assurance coûte 2,10$. 
Prime (450 heures x 2,10$/heure) 945 $
Heures de la période de référence (100 heures x 2,10 $/heure)
- 210 $
Heures de la réserve (50 heures x 2,10 $/heure)
 - 105 $
Montant à payer avant taxes
 = 630 $
Taxes (9 % x 630 $)
 + 56,70 $
Montant à payer pour être assuré C  = 686,70 $

La Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) transmet un avis d’assurabilité aux personnes admissibles en y indiquant le montant à payer. Dans certains cas, le salarié doit payer la prime demandée. Consultez la section relative à la Loi sur l’assurance médicaments du Québec.

Le salarié peut payer une prime pour obtenir la couverture du régime Z pour une période d’assurance, s’il répond aux conditions suivantes :

  1. il ne peut pas être assuré par ses heures (A, B, C ou D) pour cette période d’assurance; 

    ET
    1. il répond aux conditions pour le paiement d'une prime pour obtenir les protections du régime A, d’une prime pour obtenir les protections du régime C ou d'une prime pour obtenir les protections du régime d’assurance aux retraités pour cette période d’assurance;

      OU
    2. il est âgé de moins de 65 ans le premier jour de cette période d’assurance

    ET
    1. il a perdu son droit de payer une prime pour obtenir les protections du régime A

      OU
    2. il a perdu son droit à l'assurance aux retraités.

La prime à payer varie chaque période d’assurance; pour la période de juillet à décembre 2019, elle est de 1 020 $ (taxes incluses). Les heures accumulées durant la période de référence et celles en réserve sont utilisées pour diminuer le montant à payer.

Par exemple : pour la période d’assurance de juillet à décembre 2019, un salarié admissible au paiement de la prime 
pour obtenir le régime Z a travaillé 100 heures durant la période de référence et a 50 heures en réserve.

Durant la période de référence de septembre 2018 à février 2019, une heure d’assurance coûte 2,10 $.

Prime (avant taxes)  931,19 $
Heures de la période de référence (100 heures x 2,10 $/heure)  - 210 $
Heures de la réserve (50 heures x 2,10 $/heure)  - 105 $
Montant à payer avant taxes  = 616,19 $
Taxes (9 % x 616,19 $)  + 55,46 $
Montant à payer pour être assuré Z  = 671,65 $

La Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) transmet un avis d’assurabilité aux personnes admissibles en y indiquant le montant à payer. Dans certains cas, le salarié doit payer la prime demandée; consultez la section relative à la Loi sur l’assurance médicaments du Québec.

En vertu de la Loi sur l'assurance médicaments du Québec, tous les Québécois ont l'obligation de s’inscrire et de contribuer à un régime d'assurance médicaments.

Si le salarié ou le retraité a moins de 65 ans et qu’il ne bénéficie pas d'une protection d'assurance médicaments auprès d'un autre assureur, il doit s’assurer auprès de MÉDIC Construction lorsqu’il y est admissible. S’il est inscrit au régime public d'assurance médicaments administré par la Régie de l'assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ), il doit annuler son inscription.

S’il est âgé de 65 ans ou plus, il a le choix de s’assurer avec la RAMQ ou avec un régime d'assurance privé comme MÉDIC Construction.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur la Loi sur l'assurance médicaments du Québec, communiquez avec la RAMQ.
X

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de témoins, communément appelés « cookies » et autres traceurs nous permettant de vous proposer des contenus et des promotions adaptées à vos intérêts et de recueillir des statistiques de visites en vue d’améliorer votre expérience de navigation. Vous pouvez en tout temps bloquer la transmission des données grâce au module offert par Google.

Pour en savoir plus sur notre politique de confidentialité et conditions d'utilisation, cliquez ici.

Confirmer